ALBUM: The Cavemen – Roots

ALBUM: The Cavemen Roots

Right from their debut single, “Osondu”, the Cavemen’s immediate agenda was clear: they are here to build on the immortal blueprint of Highlife music, and play their part in extending the influential sound’s relevance in the most authentic way possible.

In the past year and a bit, the sibling duo, comprising bassist Kingsley Okorie and drummer Benjamin James, have advanced their cause in meaningful ways, constantly raising the bar with subsequent singles, playing an integral role on Lady Donli’s critically acclaimed debut LP, ‘Enjoy Your Life’, and generally improving their profile as one of the most delightful bands around through their electrifying live performances.

From their living room, where this album was recorded, The Cavemen begin their journey to change the world by diversifying the Nigerian music landscape with a Highlife sound, that has been audibly omitted from contemporary music.

Beyond the lively album cover and The Cavemen’s traditional instrumentalism, the duo’s ‘ROOTS’ can also be heard through their lyrics, which are more often in vernacular tongue, Igbo, than in English, an inaccessibility that actually elevates the album with its uniqueness and authenticity.

On first listen, the Cavemen seem to have achieved what they set out for. Comprising five pre-released singles and eleven new tracks, the 54 minutes-long set is packed with bewitching, colourful and easy listening grooves, resulting in an album that flows immaculately from front to back and favours repeat listens.

1: Welcome To The CaveDOWNLOAD
2: AkarakaDOWNLOAD
4: Bolo Bolo (Happiness In The Cave)DOWNLOAD
8: Ifeoma OdooDOWNLOAD
9: Crazy LoverDOWNLOAD
11: Beautiful RainDOWNLOAD
12: HomesongDOWNLOAD
14: Obiageri (With Mama)DOWNLOAD
15: OsonduDOWNLOAD
16: Onye Ma UcheDOWNLOAD

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What Do you think?